Empire

Card, O. S. (2007). Empire. New York, NY: Tor Books.

Empire.  My next book.  It’s less because of what I’ve heard about the book, and more about Orson Scott Card.  I remember reading Ender’s Game and how it blew my mind.  If I may employ some hyperbole, it was almost as prescient as Jules Verne.  The two games they played at Battle School (the fantasy game and the strategy game) were essentially Starcraft and Everquest.  All of the students had “desks” (laptops).  Peter and Valentine were uber-popular bloggers as Locke and Demosthenes.

from the hilarious xkcd.com

Will Empire be as cool?  Probably not, but I can hope.  I will surely enjoy the ride, though.

Leave a comment

Filed under Library

Leave a Reply

