LISNews Librarian Essay Contest

LISNews.org had an essay contest.  These are the winners:

I particularly enjoyed “Don’t Forget about Us”.  It made me think about the YouMedia Center at Harold Washington Library in Chicago and how I would love to play all the toys in that teen center.  It makes me wish I was a teen, despite how I hated my teen years.

These essays are all pretty good, but more than that they are quite passionate.  More than anything, these essays reflect the mindset of librarians (at least those that follow LISNews).  This is a profession that is under siege by budget cuts and notions of irrelevance, but filled with bright, joyful and intelligent people.

[via LISNews]

Leave a comment

Filed under Library

Leave a Reply

