Joomla, OpenBiblio, and other stuff

http://adantes.homeip.net/

Check it out!  That’s just the landing page, but if you click on the website link you will be taken to my beautiful new Joomla installation.  It took me a while to actually get all that stuff working, but now it DOES work.  So it’s cool.  I wish that Joomla was a little more “stupid-proof”, but it’s pretty cool nonetheless.  I’m contemplating installing Drupal as well, just to see what it’s like.

What I like about Joomla is that it really is easy.  It would be a pain in my ever-lovin’ rear end to get the kind of site I made to work using some combination of java, HTML, css, and php.  Joomla was mostly painless.  I also like how it’s architected with each component basically being a module placed over a skeleton.  Storing everything in databases is a lot more elegant than a simple HTML solution.  So that’s cool.

Also: http://adantes.homeip.net/openbbhome/opac (yeah, I should work on that URL)

OpenBiblio is back.  This time I went with the home version which adds cover images.  I want to do another Koha installation, but I kinda want to wait until the release of koha 3.2.  I haven’t looked at all the revisions, but I like new and shiny things, so maybe I’ll wait for that.  I was also considering installing Koha in a virtual machine environment, but I don’t know how the networking is going to work out.  Do virtual machines have their own IP addresses?  How do I configure Apache?  Anyone have any advice or guidance?

Leave a comment

Filed under Library, Tech

Leave a Reply

