Let’s try this again, shall we?

Koha, part 2!

I supposedly have it up again.  I haven’t checked it on an external network, but it should work (hopefully).

http://adantes.homeip.net:81

I just set it up, so there’s nothing in it, but hopefully that will change within the next few days.  I only had enough time to add the links on the front page and that little blurb.

There are a few things different about my installation this time.  First, it’s in a virtualized server.  The last time I tried a Koha installation, it took over my web server and I didn’t really know how to change it.  So this time I installed it on a virtual server.  It’s Ubuntu again.  Ubuntu Lucid Lynx.  Server this time.  So I got a chance to work in an all command line environment.  Virtualization also allows me move this installation around as I wish just by moving the virtual hard drive.

The second thing different is that this is version 3.2.  It’s newer, it’s cooler.  There’s a good tutorial on the Koha community wiki that explains how to install Koha on Ubuntu.  I pretty much followed this verbatim except for one package.  I needed the 64-bit version instead of the 32-bit version in this tutorial.

http://wiki.koha-community.org/wiki/Koha_on_Lucid_using_Koha_packages

Apache was something of a tough nut to crack.  I have two domains from dyndns.org, and I wanted one to point to my website and the other one to point to Koha.  Unfortunately, I have only one public IP address, so this doesn’t really work.  Instead, I had to put it on a different port.  It’s inelegant, but it works.  I’ll just have to link it directly from my website.

I’ll update with my progress.

2 Comments

Filed under Library, Tech

2 responses to “Let’s try this again, shall we?

  1. Congratulations on getting Koha up and running! Have you looked at “name-based virtual hosts” for Apache? I have several Kohas running behind one IP with this kind of setup: http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/vhosts/name-based.html

    • I tried using name based virtual hosts, but I could not get it to work. I don’t know if it’s different when you have more than one apache instance running, but I could not get it to work. Thanks for the suggestion though

Leave a comment